Pavlov’s Republicans

January 16, 2010 at 7:34 am | Posted in political commentary, Republicans | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

I began with the assumption that everyone has heard of Pavlov’s dog – but it was only a momentary lapse – until I remembered we have no shortage of uninformed and/or mis-informed people , so click the link if you don’t know what the hell I’m talking about.  The short version is that Pavlov rang a bell when he fed his dog, after a while the sound of the bell caused his dog to salivate.  It’s called conditioned response.

I have come to believe that the sound of Obama’s voice (or the mention of his name) causes a similar response in members of the Republican cult party.  If Obama promotes something the right wingers automatically oppose it.  This automatic response is so ingrained that if I were Obama I would use it to my advantage.  I know you’re going to roll your eyes and say I’m being silly, and too simplistic, but some of the garbage I’ve heard coming out of the mouths of the right is a good indication, to me, that we’re dealing with extremely simple minds.  So yes, here is my simple solution.  Reverse psychology.  Need I say more?

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You are evil!

    Obama, “No Government medicare! Not Ever!”

    Glen Beck, “How dare this atheist President take away our God given right to health care?”

    hehehehe – alright – so I’m evil as well.

  2. Oh, it seems you have a fan 😉

    • And a good Christian one at that. I almost just spit my jasmine tea all over my screen when I clicked that link. I don’t even know what to say, except that it looks like my favorites have made the list as well, although it was I who achieved top billing. I had been thinking I have been remiss at adding some of my favorites to my blogroll and removing some that have gone fallow…it will be interesting to see if she keeps up. I should throw a Christian one on there every now and then and see how she handles that.

      Apparently I’m the kiss of death, according to Ms. Holier than …well everyone apparently, if you’re on my blogroll you will burn in hell. To be fair, if you are on my blogroll and don’t want to be hated by Melissa just let me know and I’ll save you from eternal damnation by removing your link.

      It looks like a brand new blog, this could get to be interesting and maybe even fun.

  3. […] | Leave a Comment How’s that for alliteration?  The other day, in the comments section of Pavlov’s Republicans, a visitor alerted me to the fact that I have a “fan”.  I clicked the link to find a […]

  4. You are dead-on with regards to the republicans and “conditioned response”. They have it down to an art form…. then again they should, after watching the democrats do the same thing for the last eight years.

  5. Just finished reading some of the comments over at “I hate Honjii”. I don’t know whether to be disgusted or amazed. If in fact this person is for real…. all I can say is “WOW”.

    Please know that I don’t hate you Honjii – I don’t even know you – But “I hate Honjii” has become a daily must read…. It’s not often one gets to view a 50 car pile up and all the carnage associated with it every day.

  6. we don’t need not water let the motherf*@ker burn…

    Honjii, you can move me to the TOP for all I care!!! I’d love to have this stalker show up when I’m onstage sometime, that would be great… why oh why does the imaginary god never bless me with these types of morons…


Throw in your two cents


Entries and comments feeds.