I’ve Been Chosen..

January 27, 2009 at 2:00 am | Posted in crooks & liars | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

…to receive a $300 gas card and a $10 phone card…said the voice with the Indian accent on the other end of my cel phone.  This is to reward me for all my purchases at the grocery stores and malls and because I have such a good payment record.

I don’t like talking on the phone, especially my cel phone so I’ve only given the number to a  handful of people.  I was kind of annoyed and about to hang up, but I wondered what kind of scam the guy was attempting to perpetrate, so I played along, kind of.

I asked questions like, how do you know what purchases I make and where I make them?  He told me they have a record of anytime I’ve swiped my credit card.  I use cash for most purchases.  He then gushed on and on about how I was receiving this wonderful reward for my spending habits.

Now for the catch, isn’t there always one?  To receive this glorious most generous reward I would be asked to simply pay $1.95 for postage.  My first question was, if you can afford to send me $310 worth of rewards, couldn’t you spring for another couple of bucks for the postage?  I was told it was not up to him (of course not) that they were just the processing company sending the rewards.  So I said, I’ll tell you what why not just send me a $298.05 gas card, or an $8.05 phone card to cover the cost of postage.  He couldn’t do that, so I suggested he keep the $10 phone card and send me the gas card, that would surely cover postage.  Of course none of these ideas were doable, so I asked him to send me an address and I would send the $1.95 in cash.  No can do.

Then I tired of the little game and started laughing.  I asked if he really thought I’d be dumb enough to give him my credit card number.  He said no you can give me any card number, even your bankcard.

When I told him that wasn’t going to happen, his employer/s would have been proud at how argumentative he was, giving me the old hard sell.  I finally told him to lose my number and hung up.

This stuff must work, you hear/read about people getting scammed by these schemes all the time, it is just so hard to believe even the dumbest of the dumb would fall for this crap.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I always get the one where the warranty on my vehicle is about to expire. I don’t have a car, and the one-year warranty on my scooter expired years ago.


Throw in your two cents

Entries and comments feeds.

