WARNING Don’t Vote a Straight Ticket

October 22, 2008 at 5:15 am | Posted in elections, political campaigns | 4 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Read the entire article at  snopes.com: Voting a Straight Ticket

For those who normally vote “Straight Democratic”, please pay close attention!!!!! I was informed this weekend by a group of Obama volunteers that when voting for the presidential candidate this November, you have to make sure you punch Barack’s name first, then proceed to punch “Straight Democratic” or else the vote for the president won’t count. I’m not sure if any of you are aware of this, but we know they won’t tell us this at the polls. Please make sure you inform others.

I am a “big time” Democrat and an informed voter who recently volunteered
for Barack Obama in New Mexico this past week.  As an informed voter, I
questioned the message sent below and decided to verify what I already
know.

If you punch Barack Obama for president and then punch Straight Ticket you
will NEGATE your vote. Again, you will negate your vote. If you do not believe me, please call the Harris County Democratic Party office at
713-802-0085.

Tell all your friends to vote either STRAIGHT TICKET or PUNCH EACH DEMOCRAT individually. Do not double vote, it negates your ballot and it
will be thrown out.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Original post by honjii […]

  2. I had no idea there was such a thing. I’ve always had to mark each race individually. Of course, in my county, voting straight Republican is usually called “voting.”

  3. Still dealing with hanging chads there? Where I live there is no option for straight ticket. You must vote for every race. I’m glad. I’m also sure this misinformation is put out in order to spoil Democratic ballots. Have you read the article in Rolling Stone by Robert Kennedy Jr. and Greg Palast? Another way to Block the Vote.

  4. I am still concerned that McCain could win totally without the consent of the voters (simply because of things like this).


Throw in your two cents

Entries and comments feeds.

