McCain and Palin Politically Incorrect

September 9, 2008 at 2:01 am | Posted in bigotry, elections, hypocrisy, political campaigns, stupidity | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I know this is a little late in coming but it has been bugging me and I wondered if anyone else noticed. During the RNC I watched Sarah Palin’s speech and heard her refer to the native people of Alaska as Eskimos. I had learned a long time ago the Inuit people consider Eskimo a derogatory term.

The name Inuit, by which the native people of the Arctic from northern Alaska to western Greenland call themselves, has largely supplanted Eskimo in Canada and is used officially by the Canadian government. Many Inuit consider Eskimo derogatory, in part because the word was, erroneously, long thought to mean literally “eater of raw meat.” Inuit has also come to be used in a wider sense, to name all people traditionally called Eskimo, regardless of local self-designations. Nonetheless, Eskimo continues in use in all parts of the world, especially in historical and archaeological contexts and in reference to the people as a cultural and linguistic unity. The term Native American is sometimes used to include Eskimo and Aleut peoples. source

Then I heard McCain’s speech and he referred to Native Americans as Indians. What’s next, calling Obama “that colored boy”?

As I have often wondered during the Bush Reign of Stupidity…don’t these people have advisers to keep them from sounding like dumbasses when they open their mouths? I suppose the answer should be obvious. NO. If not Bush would have, at the very least, learned the proper pronunciation of the word NUCLEAR. You would think that their speech writers would have enough brains to be sure crap like this isn’t spoken in public. On the other hand, if I were a speech writer for Bush, McCain, or Palin I would want to be sure my writing reflected their true selves.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m sure they do have advisors but why should they be any smarter than the guy that hired them?

  2. Um, no, they call him Sambo.

  3. “indian” is an acceptable term for indigenous peoples on the americas. it’s usually preferred (within the community).

  4. […] mean, Palin a racist, racism, ruthless, Sarah Palin Thanks to Silverstar’s comment on another post I found the following article at LA Progressive.  It doesn’t surprise me but it still makes […]

  5. […] to Silverstar’s comment on another post I found the following article at LA Progressive.  It doesn’t surprise me but it still makes […]


Throw in your two cents

Entries and comments feeds.

