There Might be a Terrorist in my Post Office Box

August 19, 2008 at 7:08 am | Posted in government, irony, political, terrorism | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

I have been receiving my mail at a post office box for about ten years. I recently received a notice (in my po box) instructing me to fill out the enclosed form and present it (with the required documents) to a postal clerk in order to prove I’m still me. According to the clerk this is some sort of homeland security rule that was put into place after 9/11. Apparently if you have a post office box you are more likely to be a terrorist than a person receiving home delivery. One of the items required was mail with my actual physical address to prove where I live. I get all my mail sent to the post office box (that’s why I have it) so I found myself in a bit of a “catch 22” situation.

I would love to opt out of the mail system…I believe most of life’s problems begin as a piece of mail. You know the sort, bills with errors that can take more time than they’re worth trying to straighten out with a phone call. However, I don’t know if there is a procedure in place for one to opt out; and I know even if I could the moment I did I would miss the notification that I’ve won ten million dollars in the Publishers’ Clearing House Sweepstakes.

I don’t think the Postal Service has a very sharp business model. In recent months I’ve noticed large signs promoting post office boxes. This, I assume, is to generate more revenue from the rental fees they charge for the boxes. This is where I think they have it backwards. If they bring the mail to our homes, they have to pay employees wages and all the associated costs, pay for the vehicles that the employees drive, including the upkeep and gas. The expenses for delivering the mail must be phenomenal! The cost of gas alone could probably feed a small country. And we get this all FREE of charge! But, if I come to the post office to pick up my mail I am charged a yearly fee. I understand that they still have to have employees sorting the mail and putting it in the various boxes, but one guy can probably do all the boxes in a day and have time left over to sell stamps and be grouchy to customers. This has to be a hell of a lot cheaper than all those people and cars/trucks, gas, insurance, etc.

It is a government run entity though, so we shouldn’t expect it to make sense or be efficient.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well said Great information, keep up the great work!


Throw in your two cents

Entries and comments feeds.

