Tax Rebate Stimulus Plan – More Stupidity On the Way

June 18, 2008 at 8:40 am | Posted in government, government waste, stupidity, taxes | 6 Comments
Tags: ,

As if the plan to stimulate the economy by sending every taxpayer a rebate check from an already depleted and deeply in debt treasury was not idiotic and expensive enough, check this out. Today I received an envelope from the IRS stamped with large red letters that said STIMULUS PAYMENT. I assumed it contained my check, silly me. In the envelope was a letter explaining that I would receive my tax stimulus check on or about June 20th. I don’t suppose the Internal Revenue Service has singled me out for special notice so I wonder how much extra it’s costing the taxpayers in postage, time, and materials to send these letters to all the taxpayers letting them know the check is in the mail?

This country has turned into an asylum and it’s being run by the lunatics.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think the intent is to have the post office return the notices that can’t be delivered. Then the IRS saves writing that particular check, or risk it being swiped by the wrong people.

    It also checks that the taxpayer is using a legitimate address on their forms.

    This extra mailing probably pays for itself, by saving the cost of replacing (some of the) checks sent to bad addresses. Maybe.

  2. I once received a notice from the IRS via certified mail (at a cost of over $4) notifying me that I had underpaid by $0.87 and demanding payment! How’s that for cost effective?

  3. I don’t know how stimulus it is for me not to receive any pmt. til late July I believe. Hell if I was sure nuff hungry broke – wow!

    I swear I really hate George Bush and no I do not feel the least bit bad for saying it.

  4. i already got my rebate, but i broke it down a bit. 600 bucks divided by 365 days is a buck64aday. i am going to spend my rebate a buck64aday till it’s all gone.

    thanks goverment- it ain’t even a cup of coffee.

    here is my story

  5. i already got my rebate, but i broke it down a bit. 600 bucks divided by 365 days is a buck64aday. i am going to spend my rebate a buck64aday till it’s all gone.

    thanks goverment- it ain’t even a cup of coffee.

    here is my story

    http://www.buck64aday.blogspot.com

  6. What was even stupider was giving people like me, who only have Social Security Disability for income, and don’t have to pay taxes on it a stimulus check if they filed a return. Guilty as I felt about it, I filed a return and got $300. And I bought a new battery for my mobility scooter with it. But it was still stupid.


Throw in your two cents


Entries and comments feeds.