More on Outsourcing & Customer Service in India

April 15, 2008 at 1:51 am | Posted in Consumer Issues, corporate bullys, crooks & liars, Current Events | 8 Comments
Tags: , , ,

The other day a friend emailed the following joke:

FINALLY, SOMEONE HAS CLEARED THIS UP FOR ME…. For centuries, Hindu women have worn a dot on their foreheads. Most of us have naively thought this was connected with marriage or religion, but the Indian Embassy in Washington , DC has recently revealed the true story…

When a Hindu woman gets married, she brings a dowry into the union. On her wedding night, the husband scratches off the dot to see whether he has won a convenience store, a gas station, a donut shop or a motel in the United States . If nothing is there, he must take a job in India answering telephones giving technical advice.

Now you know.

As I was reading the second paragraph I thought how typically stereotypical…until I got to the line about answering telephones which made me laugh out loud. I received this joke the same day the following comment was posted on one of my older rants in which I suggest the country name be changed from India to Customer Service.

If India changes its name to Customer Service, the US of A should change its name to the United States of stoned XBOX-playing McDonalds meat-flippers and crack whores infested with genital herpes working the corner of Main Street to pay for their Customer Support call to India. Comment by Arunabh Das Sharma

This was not the only person, with an Indian sounding name, who took offense at what I wrote. If you read the post you will see that I am blasting customer service in general, some of it in the good old U.S.A. My comments on the quality (lack thereof) of Indian customer service and tech support personnel are based on my personal experience and more often that not, it sucks. Unlike Arunabh Das Sharma I am not speaking ill of Indian people in general, I am talking about how poorly equipped individuals are (the few left here and abroad) to provide the service for which they are being paid. My remarks are more a comment on corporate America bilking its consumers by selling expensive products and providing sub-standard support once they have our money in their greedy pockets. I blame the American companies who turn this function over to Indian call centers and don’t investigate or monitor the employee qualifications, level of training, or the quality of service these centers provide.

Outsourcing is cheaper than hiring and providing proper training for locals, a practice I find despicable. With more and more jobs being outsourced and the maquiladoras (thanks NAFTA) more and more Americans are left without jobs. So I would ask these corporations; who will be left with enough money to buy your products and do you even care? Because the bottom line really is that as a result of cheap foreign labor, corporate profits rise, or more likely the obscenely huge salaries of greedy top executives. So if your company goes belly up (and for some strange reason the government doesn’t bail you out) no biggie. You’ve had a good run as CEO making millions every year (not including the perks) so I’m guessing you’re set for life. What a pity you have to see those dirty American peasants in the streets, scrambling to meet the basic needs of their families, from your stretch limo on the way to your private jet.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hello there. I was sent a link to your blog by a friend a while ago. I have been reading a long for a while now. Just wanted to say HI. Thanks for putting in all the hard work.

    Jennifer Lancey

  2. Wow, iC you feel strongly about this matter. Well, yeah people should have pity on other people. But what really struck me was the last line, seeing poor American peasants in your luxurious limousine (the jokes didn’t make me laugh). But some people will want to step on others to get to the top, and that’s somehow human nature, I guess. But I hope outsourcing brings a better economy to every country and pull the salaries up and increases job availability. It is, after all, losing your country’s work to other countries. So why not join an outsourcing industry for another country? It’s give and take, and not just give give give, right?
    :3

  3. Not seeing much of that give and take, back and forth you’re talking about. Seems like a whole lot going out and nothing coming back. And how is “joining an outsourcing industry for another country” going to help anything?

  4. […] More on Outsourcing & Customer Service in India By honjii The other day a friend emailed the following joke:. FINALLY, SOMEONE HAS CLEARED THIS UP FOR ME…. For centuries, Hindu women have worn a dot on their foreheads. Most of us have naively thought this was connected with marriage or … Honjii’s Harangues – https://honjii.wordpress.com […]

  5. […] foreheads. Most of us have naively thought this was connected with marriage or religion, but the Indhttps://honjii.wordpress.com/2008/04/15/more-on-outsourcing-customer-service-in-india/Unclear if trust account used to funnel money Calgary SunIt’s not exactly clear whether a University […]

  6. Well, I was watching ‘The View’ the other day please don’t ask what got wrong with me okay?!

    Whoopi Goldberg mentioned that someone contacted AT&T to ask where were all the American Customer Service Workers and Why Where They Not Hiring Them?

    Explanation – “We are no longer Educated & We are Not Graduating From Highschool!” What a crock of noodles. I will do everything in my power to advoid putting dollar and cents into their pockets.

    When my contract w/Sprint is up I will not renew if they do not begin to put Americans in their 1-800-customer service.

    I’m getting ready to buy a new car it will be American made. For now on all my clothes that I purchase w/have a tag that says, ‘Made in the USA’

    I can’t keep doing it. Soon we will be a 3rd World Country. Outsourcing Outsourcing Outsourcing Outsourcing – It has to be a fair way for everyone.

    Peace in The Valley People!

  7. I’ve been told that a tag saying something is made in America means nothing, as many of the components or the article itself still may have been made elsewhere.

    Here’s a good one. I have a car that I bought used, it is equipped with Onstar. I did not activate the service, but was thinking about it. I pushed the Onstar button to get more information and the call was answered by someone with a heavy accent who was very hard to understand. I asked where he was located and was told the Philippines.
    It’s funny how when they air those Onstar commercials, supposedly of real calls the Onstar operators always seem to be Americans. I’m thinking if I have a dire emergency I want someone I can easily communicate with, I decided to pass.

  8. […] foreheads. Most of us have naively thought this was connected with marriage or religion, but the Indhttps://honjii.wordpress.com/2008/04/15/more-on-outsourcing-customer-service-in-india/The bitter truth: Can one talk about the issues? Baltimore ExaminerAcross Maryland, housing […]


Throw in your two cents

Entries and comments feeds.

