Beer, Guns, Killing…How Much More American Can You Get?

September 5, 2007 at 11:42 am | Posted in animals, I'm just saying, Miscellaneous | 12 Comments
Tags: ,

I don’t like hunting or those who hunt. I think some basic part of humanity has to be missing from anyone who can look at a living creature and take its life, for fun and sport. Calling hunting a sport is laughable, and until the playing field is leveled by arming the animals, let’s call it what it is, cold blooded killing for fun and trophies. Imagine open season on hunters who could potentially wind up with their heads mounted on the wall of a family room somewhere. “Yeah, I bagged this big boy last spring, I’m pretty proud of that one. He was a tough one, I had to stalk him for two hours but I finally got one chance…I knew it was now or never… and got him right in the heart”

Many who hunt aren’t the brightest bulbs in the box and hunting accidents, like Dick Cheney’s, are not that uncommon. Put a gun in a the hand of a hunter and they will often shoot at anything that moves. I’ve been shot at, more than once during hunting season, while out riding my horse and that is pretty damn scary.

Add alcohol to the mix and you have a sure fire recipe for disaster. I think a cooler full a cold beer is already part of the hunting experience, but now there is a special edition blaze orange can that Miller Brewing is marketing, targeting hunters as their primary market. Granted it’s already going on, but come on, Miller Brewing, do you really need to encourage this behavior? They say “enjoy after the hunt” obviously for reasons of liability but I doubt that most hunters wait until after the hunt. If it were up to me I’d take animals out of the equation, put a bunch of beer drinking, testosterone laden, (yeah I know women hunt too) gun toting, hunting enthusiasts in the woods/mountains/wherever, and let them have at it.

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Honjii,

    Two thoughts.

    One. Da Yuppers. A comedy music group from the Upper Peninsula part of Michigan. Their song, ‘Second Week of Deer Camp’. The song regales of a memorable morning after, as the guys start to recover from the beer the night before. They mention one of the guys got a deer – hit by a pickup on a beer run. First deer in decades.

    Two. Last year Annheiser Busch had hunter-decorated 12-packs of one of their Busch labels, either Busch or Busch Light. Miller is probably just playing catch up.

    Here in North Oklahoma we have a moderately rural, moderately well off economy. Many of my neighbors fish and hunt. And eat the catch. For a few, that deer or two make up a lot of the winter meat. 40 to 65 pounds of dressed meat goes a long way.

    While trophy hunting may not directly contribute to nature, the license fees, the game wardens, and hunter education programs do. The time out doors, the break from daily routine, the return to fleeting experiences of nature, all play a part in reminding those involved of the difference between natural and artificial environments. Some lessons learned outdoors play a big part in success of companies and individuals,

    And lest you feel too bad about the deer, turkeys, and other targets, recall that they, too, live in an artificial environment.

    Farmers object to coyotes and wolves taking calves and colts (baby horses). So most areas are depleted of predators that would naturally keep the deer population under check. We inadvertently keep water sources cleaner of infectious vectors, so there is marginally less disease. We plant crops, that deer forage on, so they are better fed. In some places hunting relieves overpopulation pressures to keep a bit of balance, and prevent deer starvation during winter. Which would increase water supply contamination, increase scavenger populations. Yes, it would all balance out – but increasing predator levels increases the number of predator attacks on children, as well as livestock.

    I doubt there are any long-term, pretty answers. Remember that here in the US, hunting is also seen as preparation for boys to become effective soldiers. In other countries they give the kids a rifle and point them at rival armies.

    I will grant you the criticism of the beer, though. Beer interferes with learning, and with safety. Stick to the more common Schnaps and Annisette.

  2. Your’er a soy bean eaten machine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. I SUPPOSE YOU DON’T EAT CHICKEN OR BEEF OR FISH OR HAM. YOU DON’T WEAR LEATHER SHOES OR LEATHER CLOVES. YOU DON’T HAVE LEATHER COVERED FURNITURE. I SUPPOSE YOU NEVER EAT SPAGHETTI & MEATBALLS OR EVER BQ A STEAK. I SUPPOSED YOU NEVER WITNESSED A ROAD KILLED ANIMAL AND FELT SORRY FOR THE POOR DEAD ANIMAL THAT SUFFERED FOR HOURS AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. HUNTERS MAKE CLEAN KILLS AND EAT THE FLESH OF THEIR HARVEST. THEY HUNT BECAUSE THEY WHERE GIVEN THE RIGHT BY THEIR CREATOR AND GOD. I SUPPOSE WHEN YOUR OUT RIDING YOUR HORSE YOU NEVER THINK OF HOW SORE THE POOR HORSES BACK IS CARRYING A LOAD OF GRIEVE SUCH AS YOURSELF. LIVE YOUR LIFE FRIEND THE WAY YOU WANT BUT DON’T CRITICIZE THE OTHERS WAY OF LIFE. YOU MAY ONE DAY FIND YOURSELF BEING EATEN BY A BEAR. YOU ARE MORE THAN LIKELY ONE OF THOSE PEOPLE THAT ARE DESTROYING THE HABITAT OF ALL THOSE ANIMALS THAT WE HUNTERS ADMIRE. I SUPPOSE YOU NEVER HAVE A BEER OR CELEBRATE WITH FRIENDS. GET OFF YOUR HIGH HORSE FRIEND. TURN YOUR HORSE LOOSE FOR THE COUGERS OR BEARS OR WOLVES OR CARS TO GET.

  4. You are correct. I don’t eat anything that runs, swims, or flies. So, no, I don’t eat chicken, fish, beef, ham or flesh of any kind. I eat pasta without meat, I don’t wear leather, nor do I own leather covered furniture. Yes, I am troubled when I see dead animals by the side of the road, as most of these deaths could have been avoided if the driver gave a damn and used reasonable caution.

    I am very cognizant of my horse’s back, feet, legs and general well being when I ride. My hundred pounds compared to his twelve hundred hardly makes me a load of “grieve”. I have spent a lifetime around horses and have great love for them, (as I do all animals) and am aware of the signs of discomfort. If I see any discomfort then no riding occurs. If you ride correctly and use the correct equipment you will not hurt the horse.

    I am not one of those people who destroy habitat, which is what hunters are doing as the animals in any given habitat are part of its balance.

    As for hunters given the right to hunt

    BY THEIR CREATOR AND GOD

    …that’s a load of crap. To accept that first one must accept the existence of a god, I don’t. Funny how so much killing from innocent animals to killing in wars in done in the name of god. I believe they hunt because they are stupid, un-feeling people who don’t really give a damn about life or anything other than their immediate gratification.

    As far as hunters making a clean kill, I don’t see how that justifies taking of life. If someone shoots you, is it OK so long as it is quick and clean, and probably makes the world a better place?

    LIVE YOUR LIFE FRIEND THE WAY YOU WANT BUT DON’T CRITICIZE THE OTHERS WAY OF LIFE. YOU MAY ONE DAY FIND YOURSELF BEING EATEN BY A BEAR.

    Even though Bush is trying to eliminate freedom of speech, last time I checked it is still my right to express my thoughts and opinions. I’m not sure what any of this has to do with being eaten by a bear, but based on your comments you don’t seem very rational to begin with. Given a choice I think I would take my chances with the bear, rather than a face to face with the likes of you. Perhaps with any luck, while you are out animal murdering, you will be eaten by a bear, cougar, wolf, shot by another hunter, or be hit by a car driven by a beer drinking good ol’ boy.

    By the way, just so you know, using all caps is considered YELLING, and is considered bad netiquette.

  5. I was bow hunting this morning. I saw 8 deer, and they roamed around my blind for about 10 mins eating. I did not harvest a deer, but had the chance. I’m sorry you don’t understand the feeling of being a part of nature, not just on a high horse looking at nature.
    I do eat meat, and I will probably harvest a deer in the next month. But hunting isn’t about the killing or trophies. Just as being liberal isn’t about living in a cabin in the wood, and mailing bombs to people: or should I judge you by the worst of your kind?

  6. I do understand being a part of nature, I don’t understand claiming to be a part of nature and destroying it. I find it especially interesting that hunters are now using harvesting as a euphemism for killing. If it’s so OK to kill, then why not just call it what it is, killing? Checking the modern day definitions of harvesting, most refer to plants or trees, others refer to the spammers’ practice of gathering email addresses. There was no mention of killing. It’s not like you planted a field of deer seeds, nurtured them to maturity, and when fully ripe harvested them.

    If someone shoots you on the street and steals your wallet, can we say, “He was harvested for his money which will go to feed the harvesters hungry drug monkey.”?

  7. OK! I killed a deer last night. I will take my kids 5,3,2 to find the down deer this morning. They will help find it, gut it, process it, and then see it on their table.

    I have seen a hawk swoop out of the sky and kill a chipmunk. how can this be allowed? Death is a part of life, some day I will be dead and eaten by something even if it’s just worms. You are trying to place yourself in a position above nature, which would make you a god. This maybe why you don’t believe in god, as you only have room for one god and that is you.

  8. Ross, How can you compare a hawk swooping out of the sky killing a chipmunk, with hunting where you are using a man made weapon to kill an animal. Go into the forest and hunt with the tools “God” gave you; your hands, nails, teeth, and prey driven instincts and then it will be a valid comparison.

    It’s no surprise that hunters usually believe in god, use god as permission to kill (be it hunting animals or people in the name of religion), then accuse the atheists of having no morals.

  9. Don’t remember saying I believe in God?!? I think I said you act like a God.
    I am a part of nature, and over millions of years of evolution we have developed a massive brain. You don’t want the hawk to stop using razor sharp claws? You don’t want wolves to stop using their teeth? So why should I stop using the tool that put my kind at the top of the food chain? My brain!!
    I rode a lot when I was kid. I had a huge, but gentle quarter horse; I could lie on his back in the pasture and look up at the clouds. I rarely used a saddle, especially in the winter when his body heat would keep me warm. So? You ride bare back, or do you have a leather saddle?

    Just so you know I found the deer I “killed”. My kids are excited about having it for dinner tomorrow. I’m looking forward to having venison chilly all winter.

  10. I ride bareback sometimes, and when I don’t the tack I use is not made of leather.

    Anyone who opposes hunting is acting like god?

  11. Again you misquote me. I said; YOU are acting like YOU are a god. We are either a part of nature or a being outside of nature. That sounds like a definition of a God to me.

    I try not to generalize; remember I said I wouldn’t assume you live in a shack in the woods and mail bombs to people. 

  12. Honjii 1st havesting is a correct term used by the Department of Natural Resources look it up! I live in Wisconsin which like alot of midwestern states is over populated by deer. So hunters are providing a public service, we harvest x amount of deer dictated by the DNR so the car to deer accident ratio is lowered thus saving the lives, $$$ and lowering the vehicle insurance rates.

    I think your way off on your comments; You see us hunters as a killing machine we kill just for the fun of it and granted there are some that do but the majority of carefully select the animal we choose to harvest. Some like large bucks some like doe’s, some like smaller deer. Eitherway here in Wisconsin the hard winters, wolves, coyotes, and deer vehicle accidents will kill off part of the polulation as well.

    As far as our God given right I dont agree with that however the law makers have given us that right so who are you to say we cant hunt?

    I dont care for people like you what are you a PETA member? Unless you live out in the woods you your self are a killer. Do you have any wood products in your house? Do you drive a gasoline powered vehicle? You want to get all technical on us sportsman it’s our turn to get techincal on you.

    By the Way Gun Deer season starts here in Wisconsin in 10 day’s. If you have more comments like the ones you have posted I would dare you to come up to my part of the country and publicaly announce them at any deer registration station.

    Enjoy like bro dont worry bout the small shit your not going to outlaw hunting us hunters arent here to hurt the environment we’re providing a service beleive it or not.

    Dan


Throw in your two cents

Entries and comments feeds.

