What Does God Look Like?

May 23, 2007 at 8:39 am | Posted in Atheism, Beliefs, god, Religion | 8 Comments

I once again find myself thinking about all that “in his image” stuff.  What I’m wondering now is sort of the flip side of some questions I had when I wrote  Calling All Intelligent Designers – Part II.

I searched google images for god, and as I suspected there were lots of pictures of an elderly man with a long white beard.  Can somebody please tell me what god looks like?

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. If we were made after Gods image and after his likeness then God looks like us. We have become a little more dense then when we were first created.
    Our God is a consuming fire and the sun, which we are is called Christ or light.God is also energy that can neither be created or destroyed, only transformed.

  2. We do not know what God looks like. :-/

    In our human perspective – we cannot look upon the face of God without dying – that’s how glorious He is.

  3. Doris,
    You say

    If we were made after Gods image and after his likeness then God looks like us.

    We don’t all look alike, which one of us does he look like?

    We have become a little more dense then when we were first created.

    Are you referring to dense in the physical or intellectual sense?

  4. We don’t all look alike, which one of us does he look like?

    That would be Adam and Eve. God created man (Adam) in His own image.
    Through the years micro-evolution has taken it’s course resulting the the diversity we have today.

  5. A friend of mine found this discussion and left this comment on a blog of mine – I just thought I’d add it here. 🙂

    Being made in the image of God does NOT mean, we look like him. It actually has nothing at all to do with appearances.

    When God said that he made us in his own image this is what He meant:
    1. We have the ability to think abstractly.
    2. We have the ability to recognize and understand beauty and emotions.
    3. We have the ability to love and worship Him.
    4. We have the ability to tell right from wrong (moral consciousness).
    5. We have Free Will.

  6. I think the quote in the last post is more along the right track of what it actually means, although by no means perfect. The “in His image” line is something i don’t believe we’ll understand fully in this life. Maybe we’ll know more about ti in the next one?

  7. I have in my posession,an unautographed photo of God,If your intrested

  8. A friend posed this question to me and then immediately said every church he has ever attended says God is an invisible man in the sky… I don’t know where so many people come up with this assumption, but I like to think of it in slightly more abstract terms. Brian Purkiss’ comment was very enlightening… Kudos to your intellectual friend, Brian.

    When my friend asked the question, I had no immediate answer. I myself was not too sure, nor am I now either as I have never witnessed God (only felt his presence). I just said I did not think of God as possessing a humanlike semblance. God could be a force of energy for all I knew (reminiscent of Star Trek).

    Then I remember certain Bible passages… God appeared to Moises as fire in a brush. God appeared as lightning to write the ten commandments on stone. Ezekiel 1:26-28, “Above the expanse over their heads was what looked like a throne of sapphire, and high above on the throne was a figure like that of a man. I saw that from what appeared to be his waist up he looked like glowing metal, as if full of fire, and that from there down he looked like fire; and brilliant light surrounded him. Like the appearance of a rainbow in the clouds on a rainy day, so was the radiance around him.” Revelation 1:14-16, “His head and hair were white like wool, as white as snow, and his eyes were like blazing fire. His feet were like bronze glowing in a furnace, and his voice was like the sound of rushing waters. In his right hand he held seven stars, and out of his mouth came a sharp double-edged sword. His face was like the sun shining in all its brilliance.”

    And I thought, yes… God is like (in my feeble attempt for words) nature. Everything we know of and nothing we have seen before all at the same time. Surely that’s what God looks like.

    Then I was playing with my two year old son, and I laid on the grass to show him the clouds in the sky. And images appeared before me, shifting incessantly, continuously blending, moving: images, shapes, faces, snarls, entire stories unfolding in mere minutes. Sometimes it was just a cloud, and sometimes the cloud would move on, only to be quickly replaced by another so that the story never ends. Everything I could see in the clouds – patterns and emotions and feelings animals and plants and things I wasn’t even sure of – everything except color and sound. And even then I could imagine what color or sound was present…

    And I thought to myself, “THAT must be what God looks like.” And why not? If God is truly omnipresent, then maybe God IS everything. The Bible says God is with each of us… And maybe we weren’t the only ones created in God’s image – EVERYTHING was.

    I’m not saying God is a shapeshifter, I just think God is so overwhelmingly powerful we may never understand. So to answer your question, honjii, I think God looks like all of us – and none of us. 🙂


Throw in your two cents

Entries and comments feeds.

