God?

January 31, 2007 at 8:30 am | Posted in Atheism, Beliefs, Religion, What if? | 11 Comments

I’m a devout atheist, my boyfriend believes in god, which surprises me as he is very intelligent.  I’ve always thought, believed, that intelligence and the belief in a god were polar opposites.  Maybe this is a fluke, who knows.   

Every now and then we get into discussions about the existence of a god.  I always keep it light as I respect his beliefs, and I think he respects mine, but I do love to play with ideas.  Recently during a recent one of these discussions, while remarking on the kind of sadistic god that would allow the craziness that is going on in the world, I had an idea.   

Thinking about the little soldiers or army men that children used to play with, long before x-box and game boy, I thought, out loud, that maybe that is what the world is really all about.  Maybe all of the believers are right and there IS a god, and we are just the playthings, the army men, and like the little boys (and girls) of decades past, god likes to play war.   

Obviously this is one of god’s favorite games, because he/she/it plays it so often.  The rare times when there is world peace might be when god is sleeping, eating, getting a check up at the pediatrician’s office, or maybe playing with some other, not quite so favored, toy. 

If this is true then I wonder, when there were fewer people on earth, was that just the beginning of god’s collection of little soldiers.  Maybe he got one every time he had a happy meal.  Or maybe every time good ol’ Uncle Bob came to visit, knowing little god’s passion for the little play people, he would bring a new bag.  As the collection of little figures grew, so did god’s ability to stage play wars.  With a single sweep of god’s little fist an entire army could be wiped out. 

And I’ll bet the earth really is flat; because where else would god be playing with the little people?  The dining room table, the living room floor is the earth.  It all makes sense now.   Is there other life out there in the universe?   YES….it’s being played out by many god’s on many dining tables, bedroom floors with little plastic army men, Barbie dolls, GI Joe’s, etc.   

God?  Who knows his /her name, could actually be Mark, Robert, Melissa, Tanya.  And probably not all of them like playing war.  We just happened to get an especially bratty little god.  What would our lives be like if we got a Barbie loving god?  We’d find ourselves being dressed and undressed, having our hair styled and re-styled, being stuffed into cute little cars and cardboard and plastic houses.  Sounds pretty peaceful, until this god has a little hissy fit and pulls somebody’s head off, throws it across the room, and then the dog runs off with it and uses it for a chew toy.  That would really suck.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Let me share my belief on this subject.
    I am a hardcore Christian and I believe there is one God.
    Some of this stuff you could have easily heard before by “Bible thumpers.” However, I don’t agree with lots of the things they teach.

    To respond to some of your remarks…
    “…the kind of sadistic god that would allow the craziness that is going on in the world…”

    God created the world and it was perfect. But God didn’t want man to be robots, so he gave us free will. Man interacted with God and there was no suffering, evil, etc… Man then disobeyed God’s one and only command to him. In doing so “sin/evil” entered into the world. Man was then separated from God. But God does not like being separated from His creation. However He could not interact with man because man was sinful – God, being perfect, cannot be in the presence of anything that is imperfect. God then sent His Son, Jesus Christ, to die on the cross to pay for our sins. By accepting God’s gift, we can go to heaven when we die and have a relationship with God.
    That can be verified by reading the Bible – particularly Genesis chapters 1, 2, & 3 and by reading the four Gospels: the books Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.
    And I also believe the Bible to be true and to contain no errors. You can read about the reliability of the Bible Here

    I actually believe I responded to your thoughts on God having a little army. God gave us free will and He allows us to choose what ever path we want.

    If you would like to discuss this further, I would be more than happy to converse via e-mail. Please feel free to e-mail me at TheAdmin@SupernaturalWarfare.com

  2. Interesting post! Although I’m not an atheist, I sometimes think that this whole thing we call life is just a game that we take waaaay too seriously!

    Your first sentence is a riot to me, I’m not an atheist, but my boyfriend is. Granted, I’m not the most religious person out there, but I have religious hang ups and such. I’m pretty sure that my boyfriend considers me a fluke as well!

  3. Thank you to Brian and Chickpea for your thoughtful responses to my post. Brian, you suggest I read about the reality of the bible at http://supernaturalwarfare.wordpress.com/2006/11/29/is-the-bible-reliable/. I will make sure to do that if you will read “The God Delusion” by Richard Dawkins. Then I look forward to an interesting discussion.
    With warmest regards,
    Honjii

  4. I’ll read it!

    I’m looking forward to our discussion!

  5. I have not read ‘The God Delusion’ but have watched some of Richard Dawkins documentary’s and they are deceptive as well as being nonsense.

    The video I watched had Dawkins refuting obvious religious myths – in this case Roman Catholic traditions that are obviously way out for most Christians and are definitely not taken from the bible.

    Then he tried to explain how Evolution works and Creation doesn’t by weird arguments that make no sense.
    Dawkins arguments are things like Evolution being a gradual process which makes it much more likely to have occurred Than Creation which was close to instantaneous.
    One of the main problems here is that neither he nor anyone else have shown a valid scientific rationale for this.
    No amount of mutations and natural selection will increase the long term genetic potential of any organism.

    Christians do not attempt to absolutely prove that the bible is true by physical sciences because these sciences do no go deep enough to resolve real human problems. However the physical evidence is consistent with the biblical record.

    Most Evolutionists try to absolutely explain the world only by physical sciences, only the evidence is not consistent with their hypotheses. This position is called scientism.

    Wikipedia quote:
    “Scientism is a term often used today as a pejorative to describe someone of holding the view that science has primacy over all other interpretations of life such as philosophical, religious, mythical, spiritual, or humanistic explanations. It has also been applied to the view that natural sciences have primacy over other fields of inquiry such as social sciences.”

    It is a faith position. A faith position represented as being proven fact.
    This is what Richard Dawkins advocates – Scientism. A faith position.

  6. fredericthewise,

    I notice that you use the following statement quite a bit. Could you please explain EXACTLY what this means? And by explain, I don’t mean simply restating it in other words, but a detailed explanation please. Also please tell me how you know this to be true.

    “No amount of mutations and natural selection will increase the long term genetic potential of any organism”

  7. I know this too be true because otherwise evolutionists would have trumpeted the fact.

    I have commented more in depth on other blogs of yours.

    heres a quote from here:
    https://honjii.wordpress.com/2007/02/01/god-did-not-create-man/
    “Scientists have been trying for years to create a truly constructive mutation but have not found anything. Look at fruit flies; have any of the mutations that have occurred there increased genetic potential? Not one. They have produced offspring with more wings (duplication of existing genetic information – and they can’t fly) bigger wings, smaller wings (corrupted genetic material for growth control) and a number of other things.
    None of these offspring were better off in any situation and none had increased genetic potential.
    The end product is a simpler, less viable offspring.
    Some mutations have produced traits that are useful in a given situation, but they never make the organism more complex.
    So there are some positive mutations but they have no value to future evolutionary potential.”

  8. frederich,
    Please define, in your own words, genetic potential.

  9. Honjii,
    I’ve been having trouble getting the God Delusion. However, I should be finally getting it within the week. I will then read it and take notes.
    Now, since I’m reading a book, would it be too much if you read a book? If so, I’d like it if you would read “More than a Carpenter” by Josh McDowell. It’s a short read, but lays down the foundations of Christianity very well. It would greatly enhance our discussion.
    I’ll let you know when I get the God Delusion. 🙂

  10. It’s OK I’m not in a hurry. I’ll read it, however it’s not at the top of the list right now. Too much to do, too little time. But I will make a note of the title so I can get the book and read it as soon as I can.

  11. I’m at that same point… lol


Throw in your two cents

Entries and comments feeds.

